Oversight Committee

The Oversight Committee (OC) is the governing body of the Maritime SPOR SUPPORT Unit (MSSU). It provides the forum for three provincial governments to collaborate and define support for the MSSU. Its purpose is to provide strategic, board-level support and guidance to the operation of the MSSU to ensure its success and long-term sustainability. The Oversight Committee is ultimately accountable for the obligations outlined in the MSSU’s bi-lateral funding agreements and for the strategic leadership of the Maritime SPOR SUPPORT Unit.  

Current Members

Chair: Tom Maston – Deputy Minister, NB Department of Health

New Brunswick

  • Dr. Ted McDonald – MSSU Principal Investigator (NB); Director, NB Institute for Research, Data and Training
  • Dr. Anthony Reiman – MSSU Science Lead (Saint John); Canadian Cancer Society Research Chair, University of New Brunswick
  • Vacant – Patient Advisor

Nova Scotia 

  • Dr. David Anderson – MSSU Nominated Principal Investigator; Dean of Medicine, Dalhousie University
  • Dr. Jillian Banfield – MSSU Patient Advisor
  • Sandra Cascadden – Associate Deputy Minister, NS Department of Health and Wellness
  • Dave Denman – Manager, Research, Restricted and Continuing Care Program Funds, Nova Scotia Health Authority
  • Marina Hamilton – MSSU Director
  • Dr. Tom Marrie  – Interim Deputy Minister, NS Department of Health and Wellness
  • Dr. Gail Tomblin Murphy – VP Research and Innovation, Nova Scotia Health Authority

Prince Edward Island

  • Mark Spidel – Deputy Minister, PEI Department of Health and Wellness
  • Shaun MacNeill – Manager, Policy and Planning, PEI Department of Health and Wellness
  • Dr. Jurgen Krause – MSSU Principal Investigator (PEI); Professor, Faculty of Business and Director, Centre for Health and Community Research, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Jim Jenkins – Patient Advisor

CIHR Observer

Nancy Mason-MacLellan - Manager, Major Initiatives / Strategy for Patient-Oriented Research (SPOR) / Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) / Government of Canada